Reporting Abuse

Texas law says anyone who thinks a child, or person 65 years or older, or an adult with disabilities is being abused, neglected, or exploited must report it to DFPS.

Therefore, every church should have a process for reporting abuse. Here are some steps to consider when your plan:

  • Create a clear plan for documenting the abuse

  • Report the abuse through the Texas Abuse Hotline.

    • Use the Texas Abuse Hotline Website to report abuse that does not need an immediate response (less than 24 hours)

    • Call the Texas Abuse Hotline (1-800-252-5400) if your situation is urgent and needs to be investigated within 24 hours.

    • Call 911 or your local law enforcement agency if you have an emergency or life-threatening situation that must be dealt with immediately.

  • Discern how to provide supportive and pastoral care for all persons involved in incident

  • If a statement needs to be made to the media please contact Jozlin Parker, jparker@riotexas.org.